What is Erasmus+

Erasmus is an EU exchange programme that allows students in higher education to spend part of their study period abroad at another university.

The new Erasmus+ programme combines all the EUs current schemes for education, training, youth and sport. For many European students, the Erasmus programme is their first time living and studying in another country. Therefore, it has become a cultural phenomenon and is very popular among European students.

The programme not only fosters understanding and learning about the host country, but also a sense of community among students from different countries. The Erasmus experience is considered both a time for learning as well as a chance to socialise.

Where can I go with Erasmus+?

33 European countries are members of the Erasmus+ programme: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italia, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey and the United-Kingdom.

Since 2015, it is possible to go to non-European countries.

How long can I go with Erasmus+?

It depends on your studies, but it could be for a period of 2 weeks to 12 months.

How do I apply for an Erasmus+ grant?

An Erasmus+ grant can be awarded to cover the cost of travelling to your host country and living there. The grant depends on the cost of living cost in your host country. If you have a disability, you are also entitled to a special needs grant that covers the extra costs associated with your disability.

Preparing to participate in the Erasmus+ programme will take time. It is recommended that you begin the application process a year before the exchange. Consult the how to get a grant and go abroad section for more information.